Doctor of Medicine (MD)

Doctor of Medicine (MD) is the postgraduate degree in general medicine after MBBS. It enables the specialists to acquire in-depth knowledge and hands-on training on a variety of subjects. It helps in accurate diagnosis and treatment planning of diseases.

The specialities after MBBS are broadly divided among three different types- Clinical, Non-Clinical, and Paraclinical. The difference among them is whether you are providing direct patient care in terms of giving direct diagnosis or treatment. Clinical roles include face to face interaction with patients while non-clinical roles, in some cases, can require interaction with patients but they do not provide diagnoses. Paraclinical fields also do not include much involvement in inpatient care.


MD is a 3 years duration course which has multiple specializations. Followings are MD Courses under various categories

Clinical Category:

  • Anaesthesia
  • Dermatology-venereology-Leprosy
  • Emergency medicine
  • Family medicine
  • General medicine
  • Geriatric medicine
  • Nuclear medicine
  • Paediatrics 
  • Palliative medicine
  • Physical medicine and rehabilitation 
  • Psychiatry
  • Pulmonary medicine
  • Radio diagnosis
  • Radio therapy

Para clinical Category:

  • Community medicine
  • Forensic medicine
  • Lab medicine/Immunohematology 
  • Micro biology
  • Pathology 
  • Transfusion medicine

Basic clinical science:

  • Biophysics 
  • Pharmacology
  • Physiology

New courses:

  • Aviation medicine/Aerospace medicine
  • MD in hospital administration
  • Sports medicine
  • Tropical medicine

Required Skills and Aptitude

The nature of the job of an MD requires responsibility, sincerity, self-confidence and distinct skills. The essential skills required to be a successful MD are listed below:

  • Communication Skill
  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving Skill
  • Diagnosis Skill
  • Interpersonal Skill
  • Perseverance and Endurance
  • Team Working Skill
  • Time Management Skill
  • Use of modern treatment techniques

Entrance Examination

Admission for all PG courses are based on an entrance examination NEET PG (National Eligibility Cum entrance Test) conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency).

Other entrance exams are:

AIIMS PG – All India Institute of Medical Science

JIPMER PG – Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research

PGIMER – The Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research

The Admission Process for the course may vary from institute to institute based on the policies of the organization. 

Top Recruiters

MD specialists have huge opportunities in both private and government sectors. They can work as both faculty and specialized medical practitioners. Following are some of the jobs of these professionals. 

  • Biomedical Companies
  • Government hospitals
  • Health Centres
  • Laboratories
  • Medical Colleges
  • Non-profit Organizations etc.
  • Pharmaceutical Companies
  • Private Super Speciality Hospitals
  • Research Institutes

Popular institutes offering PG specializations

  Name of the institution  State
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) – Patna   Bihar
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) – Raipur   Chhattisgarh
  JSS Medical College - Mysore   Karnataka
  Kasturba Medical College - Manipal   Karnataka
  St. John's Medical College - Bangalore   Karnataka
  Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences & Research - Kochi   Kerala
  Government Medical College - Thrissur   Kerala
  Government Medical College – Kottayam   Kerala
  Government Medical College – Kozhikode   Kerala
  Government Medical College – Thiruvananthapuram   Kerala
  Government T.D Government Medical College - Alappuzha   Kerala
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) - Bhopal   Madhya Pradesh
  Armed Forces Medical College (AFMC) – Pune   Maharashtra
  Dr. D. Y. Patil Vidyapeeth   Maharashtra
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS)   New Delhi
  Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences   New Delhi
  Jamia Hamdard   New Delhi
  Maulana Azad Medical College   New Delhi
  Vardhman Mahavir Medical College & Safdarjung Hospital   New Delhi
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) - Bhubaneswar   Odisha
  Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER)   Puducherry
  Christian Medical College - Ludhiana   Punjab
  Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research – Chandigarh   Punjab
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) – Jodhpur   Rajasthan
  Christian Medical College - Vellore   Tamil Nadu
  Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research- Chennai   Tamil Nadu
  Aligarh Muslim University - Aligarh   Uttar Pradesh
  George`s Medical University - Lucknow   Uttar Pradesh
  Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Science - Lucknow   Uttar Pradesh
  All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) - Rishikesh   Uttarakhand
This page is supported by: Dr. Sajira